INVSTYINC.
Published September 4, 20269 min readMarket Analysis

Ontario Self-Storage Properties for Sale and Recent Transactions — September 2026

By Dusko “Duke” Lekic, Commercial REALTOR®, Ontario Self-Storage Specialist, INVSTY Team, Royal LePage Real Estate Services Ltd., Brokerage

Ontario’s public self-storage market is active, but online search results require careful screening. A property mentioning self-storage is not necessarily an operating facility, and an asking price is not evidence of market value or a completed sale.

INVSTY reviewed the Ontario commercial listings returned by a REALTOR.ca keyword search for “self storage” on September 4, 2026. We also reviewed publicly announced Ontario transactions to distinguish current asking inventory from completed acquisitions.

The current public listing screen

The REALTOR.ca search reported 109 results and rendered 102 records across ten pages. After removing out-of-province properties, duplicate board postings and three Ontario records whose descriptions did not actually mention self-storage, the working set contained 73 Ontario entries.

Listing categoryEntriesShare of screened entries
Operating facility or storage business2331.5%
Approved or drawn self-storage project811.0%
Self-storage only identified as a permitted or potential use4257.5%

The central finding is that fewer than one-third of the screened entries were classified as operating self-storage facilities. Most results were development land, industrial property or mixed-use real estate where self-storage was only one possible use.

This matters because those three categories cannot be compared using one price-per-square-foot or capitalization-rate benchmark.

Selected operating facilities currently advertised

The following examples are drawn from public listing information available on the research date. Prices are asking prices, not completed sale prices. Unit counts, building areas and land areas are broker-stated and have not been independently verified by INVSTY.

MarketAdvertised asking pricePublicly advertised characteristicsSource
Caledon$26,500,000Two adjacent properties, approximately 10 acres and 760 storage unitsREALTOR.ca
Beaverton$10,600,000Approximately 46,040 square feet on 14.379 acres, including excess landREALTOR.ca
Huntsville$9,900,000Approximately 82,842 square feet; business and land offered within a condominium structureREALTOR.ca
Springwater / Midhurst$6,850,000Approximately 130 units on 7.83 acresREALTOR.ca
Kingston$6,800,000Approximately 258 units on about 9 acres, with a residential componentREALTOR.ca
Orillia$3,590,000Approximately 156 units and 20,716 square feet on 1.81 acres, with additional commercial incomeREALTOR.ca
Collingwood$3,299,000Approximately 114 units and 11,000 square feet on 1.21 acresREALTOR.ca
Goderich$2,996,900Purpose-built facility of approximately 22,800 square feet; public listing did not state a unit countREALTOR.ca
Ramara / Brechin$1,950,000Indoor units, portable units, outdoor vehicle storage and office space on approximately 2 acresREALTOR.ca

Across all 23 entries classified as operating facilities, advertised prices ranged from approximately $600,000 to $26.5 million. That range should not be treated as a valuation benchmark. It includes small mixed-use properties, individual components of a multi-property portfolio, facilities with excess land and large assets whose price may include significant development optionality.

The workbook does not establish each property’s original listing date. INVSTY therefore describes these properties as currently advertised rather than newly listed.

Eight development-stage opportunities appeared separately

The screen also identified eight properties where a proposed self-storage project had architectural drawings, a draft plan, site-plan work or another stated development concept. Advertised prices ranged from $849,000 to $8.95 million.

Examples included:

  • an Ottawa property advertised at $8.95 million, with approximately 6.1 acres and approvals described for two self-storage buildings and two industrial condominium buildings;
  • a Georgina property advertised at $3.79 million, described as progressing through site-plan approval for a proposed 248-unit facility;
  • a Kingston property advertised at $1.79 million, described as prepared for a proposed 70,000-square-foot self-storage development; and
  • a Hamilton-area property advertised at $849,000, where a self-storage warehouse was proposed to be constructed to a buyer’s specifications.

A proposed or approved project is not equivalent to an operating facility. Investors still need to confirm planning status, permitted use, servicing, construction pricing, access, stormwater requirements, fire and building-code requirements, market demand and financing conditions.

Permitted use is not an operating business

Forty-two screened entries only referred to self-storage as a permitted, suggested or potential use. These included vacant land, industrial buildings, conversion opportunities and mixed commercial properties.

A listing’s reference to self-storage does not establish that a development is feasible or that all required approvals are in place. Municipal zoning definitions, site-specific exceptions, access, servicing, setbacks, parking, loading, stormwater management and building requirements all require independent verification.

This category should be evaluated as development real estate, not combined with stabilized facility sales when calculating market value.

Recently announced Ontario transactions

Public transaction reporting is less complete than active-listing data. Many private sales do not disclose price, financial performance or individual property details. The examples below are publicly announced transactions, not a complete record of Ontario sales.

StorageVault completed four Ontario acquisitions for $81.55 million

On August 26, 2026, StorageVault Canada announced that it completed the acquisition of four arm’s-length storage assets for an aggregate purchase price of $81.55 million. Three properties were in the Greater Toronto Area and one was in Southwestern Ontario. Three of the assets, representing $71.25 million of the aggregate price, were acquired through a joint venture with Woodbourne; the fourth was acquired directly by StorageVault. StorageVault investor news

FMS Capital Trust completed five Southern Ontario acquisitions

On June 8, 2026, FMS Capital Trust announced the completed acquisition of five facilities in Grimsby, Niagara Falls, Keswick and Port Perry. Together, the properties comprised approximately 200,000 square feet of net rentable area and more than 1,500 storage units. The announcement did not disclose the purchase price. FMS Capital Trust announcement

Green Storage acquired facilities in Aurora and Waterloo

CoStar reported in January 2026 that Green Storage acquired a 47,140-square-foot Aurora facility and a 45,537-square-foot Waterloo facility for an aggregate $11.3 million, or approximately $121.83 per square foot across the two properties. The reported figure is a combined transaction metric and does not disclose each facility’s income, occupancy or allocation of value. CoStar transaction report

FMS Capital Trust’s initial Ontario portfolio closed for $42 million

In September 2025, FMS Capital Trust announced the completed acquisition of three Ontario self-storage properties for $42 million. The portfolio included a Belleville-area property and locations in Trenton and Frankford and was described as containing 1,550 storage units and 350 vehicle-storage spaces. FMS Capital Trust announcement

What investors should take from the September screen

The current market contains several distinct opportunity types:

  1. Institutional and large regional acquisitions. Recent public announcements demonstrate continued demand for portfolios and larger facilities, particularly in the GTA and established Southern Ontario markets.
  2. Owner-operated facilities. Smaller facilities remain available, but public listings often provide incomplete income, occupancy and expense information.
  3. Expansion and redevelopment opportunities. Some advertised prices include excess land, development approvals or alternative-use potential. Those elements need to be valued separately from in-place storage cash flow.
  4. Land and conversion listings. More than half of the screened entries were not operating facilities. A reference to self-storage as a possible use is only the beginning of feasibility work.

Investors should not apply one capitalization rate across this entire screen. A supportable valuation requires normalized revenue, sustainable operating expenses, physical and economic occupancy, unit mix, current rents, concessions, delinquency, capital requirements and an assessment of any excess land or expansion rights.

Asking prices also should not be presented as comparable sales. A completed transaction may include portfolio premiums, operating-platform value, development rights, related-party components or financing arrangements that are not visible in the headline price.

Research limitations

This article is a point-in-time market screen, not an appraisal, feasibility study or complete listing service. Listings can be amended, conditionally sold, withdrawn or repriced without notice. Public transaction announcements may omit individual addresses, operating results, allocation of purchase price and other material terms.

Buyers should confirm all information through the listing brokerage, municipal and title searches, financial due diligence and qualified legal, accounting, planning, environmental, building and financing professionals.

Explore Ontario self-storage opportunities

INVSTY works with buyers, sellers and operators across Ontario, including confidential opportunities that may not appear in public listing searches.

Dusko Duke Lekic, commercial REALTOR

Written by Dusko “Duke” Lekic

Commercial REALTOR® specializing in self-storage investment properties across Ontario. Former owner and operator of Golden Lake Self Storage and Trail Side Self Storage facilities.

View Profile

Editorial disclosure

Dusko “Duke” Lekic is a commercial REALTOR® with Royal LePage Real Estate Services Ltd., Brokerage, and works with buyers and sellers of self-storage properties. INVSTY may represent parties in transactions discussed generally on this website. No confidential client information was used in this article.